NM Insure offers a variety of auto insurance options for New Mexico residents. The law requires all residents of our state who drive automobiles to obtain insurance from a company licensed and approved to conduct business in New Mexico. When you entrust NM Insure to provide your coverage, we will send an electronic notification to the New Mexico Insurance Identification Database (IIDB) confirming your policy.
What Is the Minimum Amount of Coverage a New Mexico Driver Must Obtain?
The law requires that drivers carry coverage of at least $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person, at least $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons, and at least $10,000 for property damage that occurs in any single accident.
Is Additional Coverage Available?
Yes, you may obtain coverage above the minimum levels required by the state of New Mexico. The coverage level you select, and the amount of the deductibles included in the policy are personal decisions. NM Insure encourages you to talk with one of our agents about the level of coverage that best suits your needs.
How Can I Prove I Have Proper Insurance When Registering My Vehicle?
When visiting the local New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) office, be sure to bring along your current insurance card, a copy of the policy in force, or a letter from your insurance provider on stationery with the company's letterhead that verifies you have appropriate levels of coverage.
Do I Have to Wait Until My Current Policy Ends before I Change Policies?
No, you may promptly acquire coverage from NM Insure under one of our policies. Once the state's IIDB has confirmation of coverage with us, you may cancel your other policy with another carrier.
Contact us today to learn about the auto insurance policies we offer. You can try our online rating tool to get quotes on auto insurance. Talk with our licensed agents who are familiar with a variety of policies and coverage levels, and get started on a policy right away.